No fewer than 35 political appointees of the Governor of Ogun State, Dapo Abiodun, including the Secretary to the State Government, Tokunbo Talabi, Chief of Staff Shuaibu Afolabi Salisu, and political Adviser Samson Egbetokun, have surreptitiously resigned their appointments, Peoples Gazette has learnt.





Some of the other appointees who have resigned, according to sources, are  Tunji  Akinosi, Commissioner for Forestry, Afolabi Afuape, Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Adijat Adeleye-Oladapo, Special Adviser on Women Affairs, Dapo  Okubadejo, Commissioner for Finance/ Economic Adviser to the Governor, and Jgunmolu Omoniyi, Commissioner for Housing.




The Gazette learnt the appointees tendered their resignation in a hushed process managed by the office of the SSG.



Last week, Mr. Talabi’s office released a directive from the governor requiring political appointees wishing to run for office in the 2023 general elections to tender their resignation at a special desk in the SSG’s office.



It is believed that the carefully guarded process was taken to beat the clause in the newly assented Electoral  Act 2o22 which provides that political appointees must completely vacate their office for eligibility to participate in party primaries.




Section 84(12) of the new electoral law provides that: ‘’No political appointee at any level at any level shall be a  voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election’’.




While Messers Salisu, Akiosi,  Afuape, Okubadejo,  Jagunmolu, and Mrs. Adeleye-Oladapo seek seats in the House of Representatives to represent  Abeokuta North/ Obafemi-Owode/ Odeda, Ado-Odo/ Ota, Abeokuta South, Ijebu Central, Yewa South/Ipokia, and Ifo/Ewekoro  Federal Constituencies respectively, Messers  Talabi and Egbetokun are believed to be eyeing a seat to represent Ogun East and Ogun Central respectively at the Senate.





The government has, however, refused to make the list of the resignees public. Both Messages Talabi and Salisu turned down  The Gazette’s requests seeking confirmation of the appointees’ resignation.




Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari had asked the National Assembly to delete the clauses because political appointees would be disenfranchised.




‘’Section 84(12)constitutes a disenfranchisement of serving political office holders from voting or being voted for at Conventions or Congresses of any political party, for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election in cases where it holds earlier than 30 days to the National  Election,’’ the President argued.





However, on Monday, the Abuja Division of the Federal High  Court stopped President Muhammadu Buhari, the Attorney  General of the Federation(AGF) Abubakar Malami, and the Senate President Ahmad Lawan from tampering with the newly amended Electoral Act 2022.





(Culled from Peoples Gazette)

By TheInterviewsNigeria

Publisher/Editor -in Chief with more than a decade of working in the media production industry, Our preoccupation is Development News and rooting for innovation locally and internationally. We are British trained Business English PRO. We edit manuscripts for book publication, translation(English/Yoruba/French). We cross your 't's' and dot your 'i's. We are also into speech draftsmanship and photography; Business reports, and proposals, with minimal cost. Meeting the deadline is our watchword. We would cover your Social /Public events with precision. The proof of the pudding is in the eating. Call-08144956897, 08057355037 E-mail-,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *